MK pix

113333-a2

In the hours since the outcome of the presidential election was settled, I’ve been feeling and thinking and talking about what it means, what to do, how to recover. I believe that this is a clarifying moment for us all.

I live next to the playground of a middle school. The noise of kids playing soccer and baseball and football floats through the fence, with all their laughing and shouting. Just a few days ago my partner overheard one of the boys say “Come on, white people!”.  My partner is black. I was shocked when she told me. I’m sure she was shocked also. Not so long ago political correctness would keep such utterances unspoken, or at least private. It’s a new day.

Those of us on the left have retreated to our special interest silos for years. Gay rights groups protesting the latest murder of a transgender person. Environmentalists…

View original post 481 more words

