I would say -“Been there,done that” ,but that would be too simple .I know you know the answers to all your questions,but I wonder if a musician,like myself,should answer all of them for the benefit of the public.I think everybody hears pop songs(elevator music) in their heads .I am worse,because the library of songs is enormous.So,if someone speaks a lyric accidentally in their day to day speech ,I actually start singing the song associated with the words I just heard.It’s really annoying.

The Rotting Post

I really like singing.  Actually, it’s kind of a problem.

Is there such a thing as Musical Tourette Syndrome?   I think I might have it.

I sing really bad songs.  Catastrophically bad songs.  At the worst times.  Without realizing it.   I’ll be on a crowded elevator and I’ll realize somewhere around the 20th floor that I’ve been singing, “Love Will Keep Us Together,” by The Captain and Tenille since the lobby.  I’m up to the line, “You (you, ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh) You belong to me now…” and I’ll realize what I’m doing and kind of let it peter out.

Or I’ll be at a funeral, my mind wandering, and I’ll call out,  “Heeey, Macarena,” realize people are looking at me, and mumble my way into prayerful reverie.  “Macarena sh’vua yud…”

I had an acute episode some years ago while  driving my teenage daughter and her best friend to…

View original post 534 more words

